Jump to page content


Event Chair: Dan Jellinek, Editor, E-Government Bulletin

09.00 - 9.30

Registration and coffee

9.30 - 10.15

Keynote: The role of citizen journalism in a modern democracy
Helen Boaden, Director, BBC News

10.15 - 10.45

'A year in e-democracy'
Tom Steinberg, Director, mySociety

10.45 - 11.15

Coffee and exhibition

11.15 - 12.00

E-participation in Europe
Chair: Rolf Lührs, Tutech and Project Co-ordinator, PEP-NET
- Renate Mitterhuber, City of Hamburg
- Csaba Madarász, Central and Eastern European Citizens Network, Hungary
- Julia Glidden, Board Member, MOMENTUM Project and Managing Director, 21c Consultancy

12.00 - 12.45

Unheard voices - participant representatives
- Jack Thurston, Co-Founder, Farmsubsidy.org
- Tobias Escher, Oxford Internet Institute
- Robin Christopherson, Head of Accessibility Services, AbilityNet

12.45 - 13.45

Lunch and exhibition

13.45 - 14.35

A choice of workshops:

A: Open Source in e-Democracy - How good can it be if it's free?
Chair: Chris Quigley, Director, Delib
- Steph Gray, Head of Social Media, Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills
- Gez Smith, Senior Consultant, Delib
- Dave Briggs, Digital Enabler, DavePress Ltd

B: The US presidential race online
Chair: Dan Jellinek, Editor, E-Government Bulletin
- Matthew McGregor, Senior Strategist, Blue State Digital
- James Crabtree, Trustee, UK Citizens Online Democracy
- Tom Nabielec, Ambassador Member, Republicans Abroad UK

C: Local e-Democracy for Stronger Communities
Chair: Catherine Howe, Operations Director, Public-i and European Commission Momentum Project
- Richard McKay, London Borough of Redbridge
- Paul Hepburn, University of Manchester

14.35 - 15.30

A choice of workshops:

D: UK workshop - Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland
Chair: Richard Sarson, Freelance Technology Journalist
- Bethan Jenkins, Plaid Cymru AM
- David Newman, Queen's University, Belfast

E: Digital Dialogues (findings of Hansard Society research)
Chair: Andy Williamson, eDemocracy Programme Director, Hansard Society
- Jane Seymour, Head of Web and Editorial, Food Standards Agency
- Ben Rhodes, Engagement Analyst, Sustainable Development Commission
- Stephen Hale, Head of Engagement and Digital Diplomacy, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

F: E-democracy on the global front line
Chair: Dan Jellinek, Editor, E-Government Bulletin
- Becky Faith, Project Lead, Tactical Technology Collective
- Sokari Ekine, BlackLooks.org
- Motoo Kusakabe, Senior Counsellor to the President, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

15.30 - 16.00

Refreshments and exhibition

16:00 - 17:00

Plenary Session: Question Time
Chair: Paul Johnston, Head of European Public Sector, Cisco Internet Business Solutions Group
- Peter Bazalgette, Director, YouGov
- Margaret Moran MP, Chair, EURIM
- Willie Rennie MP, Chair, Liberal Democrats Parliamentary Campaigns Team
- Iain Dale, Publisher, Total Politics Magazine