Jump to page content

e-Democracy '08

The conference is now over for another year - thanks so much to everyone who attended, to our speakers, and of course to all our sponsors and supporters.

Anyone interested in attending next year should sign up for our free email newletter E-Government Bulletin (www.headstar.com/egb) which will ensure you receive information on all Headstar events. This year's event was a great success, and has confirmed our status as the UK's leading annual conference on this topic. Around 150 delegates attended from government, Parliament, local government, and the wider political, democratic and technology communities.

We have already gained some high profile coverage, and the online debate is buzzing, from the BBC's iPM blog:
the BBC Editor's Blog, from our keynote speaker Helen Boaden:
Stephen Hale, at the Foreign Office:
Iain Dale's Diary:
Bethan Jenkins, Member of the Welsh Assembly:
Peter Cruickshank, aka Spartakan:
Damian Watson
PEP-NET blog:
If you have covered the event in your own publication, blog or website, do let us have the link.

Our speakers this year included Helen Boaden, Director of News, BBC; Renate Mitterhuber of the City of Hamburg; Jack Thurston of Farmsubsidy.org; Bethan Jenkins, Member of the Welsh Assembly; Andy Williamson, of the Hansard Society; Peter Bazalgette, Director of YouGov and former head of Endemol; and Tom Steinberg, founder of MySociety.org. We will be posting up copies of presenations on this website in the days to come: for links to these please see the programme page.

I look forward to seeing you all here in London again next year, date to be confirmed soon!
Best wishes,
Dan Jellinek
Conference Chair